Day: September 21, 2010

Sharing Something Costs Nothing

Posted on Updated on

One challenging call of a public school teacher is to deal with the less fortunate students. I considered this as a mission to fulfill. Have you ever heard “thank you” from a student whom you provide a meal? Would you give transportation allowance to a student who will walk all the way to school and back home? Would you offer a certain amount of cash for a student’s haircut? Have you bought some snacks and offer it to a starving student? Ninety five percent of public school teachers will answer “yes, I did”.

I had a son who graduated in high school last March 2010. Mrs. Jinefer Janette A. Magdoza, teacher in MAPEH asked if I was willing to give a school uniform to one of our less fortunate male students under her class. I did not hesitate. I felt the joy. I considered it as a God-given opportunity to practice kindness.

The next day I hand to Mrs. Magdoza the white polo of my son. She went to the classroom and gave it to the student. She came back to me with a sweet smile and told me how happy the student was. The student’s name is Aldrin Sadia, a senior student at present.

After two weeks, we saw the student walking along the pathway wearing my son’s polo. Again, I felt the joy. I noticed that his jeans were not presentable. I asked my son to give up one of his jeans despite the fact that he only has four. He smiled with happiness. He said that he felt the joy because he would make one student happy.

I requested Mrs. Magdoza again to hand it to the student because I would not know how to find him. She went on. After few minutes, she returned together with the student. She said that the student wanted to see me and say personally his gratitude. I felt the inner joy when I heard “thank you ma’am” from that student. It was very rewarding.

Giving something to someone did not necessarily require us to make sacrifices on our budget. Some stuff in our possession which we consider of less importance would make others happy. We should not go on sparing them for the cockroaches and rats. Many people are in need. We may not encounter them in our day-to-day routine. Let us make opportunities to find them and share what we have.

I might not have touched his life but I am sure of one thing. I shared something valuable for him yet it costs me nothing.

Pennies on the Stage

Posted on Updated on

We hear people say “Honesty is the best legacy.” Do teenagers at present still uphold this value?

Last July 30, 2010 I arrived at 6:42 a.m. in school. As I was climbing the stairs up to the stage, a sophomore student greeted me with utmost courtesy. It was Mark M. Calibay, 14 years old. He was assigned as a sound system aide. He was busy setting up the system for the flag ceremony at 7:00 a.m.

He told me that while he was fixing the extension wire, he found three five peso coins on the stage. He showed me the pennies. He said that possible owner would be one of the boy scouts because they stayed on stage late in the afternoon of the previous day. I asked him if he was sure. But he wasn’t. He requested me to help him find the owner.

I was amaze of his act. He would have kept the pennies for his fare or snacks. The amount was minimal and the owner may not be bothered of the loss. I sigh “this guy is honest”. I told him to temporarily keep the pennies and search for the real owner. He must make sure that he will give it back to the one who lost it.

We need to tell the truth. We have to be honest. It is an indicator that a person is trustworthy. This is one of God’s requirements in obeying the commandments. Whoever is honest in small matters will be honest in large ones [Luke 16:10].

Honesty as defined in the dictionary means fairness and straightforwardness of conduct. Thus, telling the truth of what has happened is honesty.

In this fast-paced world honest persons are hard to find. The value of honesty is usually distorted by poverty. I am blessed to have met Mark. In him I relearn that honesty still exists despite materialistic trend of people.

Let us be like Mark. Honest in his own little way.